

A collaborative effort between the towns of Blacksburg and Christiansburg, Montgomery County, the New River Valley Regional Commission, and Virginia Tech to **advance and support the shared interests of the region.**

This one-year initiative will explore new and innovative ways these stakeholders can work together to coordinate and amplify the shared interests and priorities of their communities in the New River Valley. This partnership will pave the way for shared progress and prosperity in the region.

The work is supported by LINK Strategic Partners, a strategic communications and stakeholder engagement firm with experience working on similar projects with university partners across the country and globally, including extensive experience in delivering stakeholder engagement strategies and regional development plans. By understanding and respecting the communities in which they operate, LINK helps their clients create and apply the right tools and strategies to translate challenges into opportunities for hyperlocal success.

Executive Committee

Mike Barber - Mayor of Christiansburg

Mary Biggs- Chair of Montgomery County Board of Supervisors

Kevin Byrd - Executive Director of the NRV Regional Commission

Leslie Hager-Smith - Mayor of Blacksburg

Tim Sands - President of Virginia Tech

Project Steering Committee

Steve Baffuto - President and Chief Executive Officer, Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce

Bernard Bragen - Superintendent, Montgomery County Public Schools

Katie Boswell - Executive Director, Onward NRV

Kevin Byrd - Executive Director, New River Valley Regional Commission

Ann Cassell - President, The Blacksburg Partnership

Cyril Clarke, - Executive Vice President and Provost, Virginia Tech

Sandy Davis - Board of Visitors Representative, Virginia Tech

Steve Fijalkowski - Vice Chair, Montgomery County Board of Supervisors

Ellington Graves - Associate Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion, Virginia Tech

Tanya Hockett - Vice Mayor, Town of Christiansburg

Frances Keene - Vice President for Student Affairs, Virginia Tech
Elizabeth McClanahan, - Chief Executive Officer, Virginia Tech Foundation
Leslie Orellana - Undergraduate Student Representative, Virginia Tech Board of Visitors
Mark Owczarski - Interim Vice President of Communications and Marketing, Virginia Tech
Charlie Phlegar - Senior Vice President for Advancement, Virginia Tech
William Poland - Graduate Student Representative, Virginia Tech Board of Visitors
Amy Sebring - Executive Vice President/Chief Operating Officer, Virginia Tech
Michael Sutphin - Vice Mayor, Town of Blacksburg
Lisa Wilkes - Vice President for Strategic Initiatives and Special Assistant to the President,
Virginia Tech

Jessica Wirgau - Chief Executive Officer, Community Foundation of the New River Valley Chris Yianilos - Vice President for Government and Community Relations, Virginia Tech